What Happens With Your First DUI?

What Happens With Your First DUI?

When you’re out driving, there are instances where you make a poor decision that can result in you getting pulled over by the police. One of the most serious offenses you can be caught for is driving under the influence (DUI). While some people may believe getting pulled over for a first offense isn’t as big of a deal, they are in for a rude awakening. So what exactly happens with your first DUI? Here are some of the most critical factors determining how bad of a situation you are in.

Can I Go to Jail in PA for My First DUI?

While it’s not the first thing that you can expect from a DUI in Pennsylvania, it’s also not unheard of for a driver to see some jail time for their first infraction. The penalties’ severity is based on various factors that happen on an adjustable scale. Some of these factors include:
  • Your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time
  • Your age
  • Whether there’s an accident
  • If you refused a field sobriety test like a breathalyzer or blood test
Additionally, you could get additional charges added to your case based on your conduct while interacting with the police officer. If something like resisting arrest gets added to your formal report, you could face jail time even as a first-time DUI offender.

What Are Some of the Potential Penalties for a First DUI?

If you aren’t facing a serious accident, have an outrageously high BAC level, or hurt another driver and drove off, you most likely won’t see jail time for your first offense. However, that doesn’t mean the penalties are any less severe. The legal BAC limit in Pennsylvania is .08, and depending on how far above that limit you went, the consequences scale accordingly.

If your first offense involved you having a BAC measurement between .08 and.10, you could face the following during your sentencing:

  • Up to six months probation
  • Fine up to $300
  • Attending traffic safety classes
  • Attending an alcohol treatment program

However, law enforcement can cite extenuating circumstances and add more penalties or increase existing ones. For drivers that have a rating between .10 and .16 BAC, they can expect the following in addition to traffic safety classes and an alcohol inpatient treatment program:

  • Potentially up to six months in jail
  • Up to a $5000 fine
  • Suspended driver’s license for a year 

If you have a minor in your car at the time of your arrest, you could also face extra and more severe penalties. Also, if you have a BAC level of .16 or higher, you’re facing the harshest fines, possible jail time, and extensive classes and treatment programs before you’re allowed back behind the wheel of a car.

Getting the Alcohol Rehab Treatment You Need in Mahanoy City, PA

Whether you’re facing a court-mandated admittance to an alcohol abuse treatment program or want to take a proactive approach to your condition, Silver Pines Treatment Center is here to help. We have worked with countless patients to work through their issues with alcohol and live healthier and happier lives. We develop personalized treatment plans for everyone that comes through our doors, so they receive the help and support tailored to their specific needs. 

If you or someone you love has an alcohol problem, please don’t hesitate to call our rehab center at 267.209.7313 . Contact our team to learn more about our programs and admissions process.


Related Resources

Overcome your addiction today with the help of one of the best addiction rehab centers in the U.S. We are in-network with most major insurance companies.

Subscribe to Our Monthly Newsletter

Get exclusive resources, find inspiration, and grow alongside us. Subscribe to our monthly newsletter now!

Scroll to Top